NIBIB’s First Edward C. Nagy New Investigator Symposium, 2011

Lister Auditorium on the NIH Campus in Bethesda, Maryland

Meeting summaries and reports

The first "NIBIB Edward C. Nagy New Investigator Symposium" took place at the Lister Hill Auditorium on April 12, 2011. The Symposium featured eight new investigators who had demonstrated outstanding, fresh, and innovative work in their fields. The Symposium showcased to the NIH community the exciting research being conducted at the convergence of the life, physical, and engineering sciences by these early stage investigators.

Edward C. Nagy New Investigator Award Recipients

  • Jason A. Burdick, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Zhen Xu, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Brian Hargreaves, Ph.D., Stanford, University
  • David M. Lynn, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • H. Tom Soh, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Sarang Joshi, D.Sc., The University of Utah
  • Justin Hanes, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
  • Michael Goldfarb, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

The NIBIB new investigator award is named in honor of Mr. Edward Nagy, one ofthe driving forces behind enactment of the legislation that created the NationalInstitute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering in 2000. After its enactment,"Ed" worked tirelessly to support the mission of the Institute and the NIH on Capitol Hill and with the general public.

Unfortunately, Mr. Nagy suffered an untimely death on July 29, 2006. In recognition of Mr. Nagy's commitment to the NIH and to biomedical research, the NIBIB named its new investigator award the Edward C. Nagy New Investigator Award.

PDF iconAgenda