Creating Biomedical Technologies to Improve Health


March 1, 2013

Eight NIBIB grantees inducted into AIMBE 2013 College of Fellows

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) honored eight NIBIB grantees for their significant accomplishments and innovation in medical and biological engineering at the AIMBE annual meeting held February 17-19, 2013 in Washington, DC. AIMBE fellows are nominated by their peers for their outstanding contributions in research, industrial practice and/or education, and represent the top 2% of the medical and bioengineering community. A total of 81 new Fellows were inducted this year.

AIMBE was founded in 1991 and represents 50,000 members from academic institutions, government, private industry, and professional engineering societies.

The eight researchers currently funded by the NIBIB who were inducted into the AIMBE 2013 Class of the College of Fellows include:

  • Susmita Bose, Ph.D. Professor, School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering at Washington State University—for significant contributions to biomaterials research and to bioengineering education.
  • David G. Castner, Ph.D. Associate Dean for Infrastructure, College of Engineering at the University of Washington—for outstanding contributions to the development and application of surface analysis methods for characterizing biomedical materials and devices.
  • Brian Cunningham, Ph.D. Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign—for outstanding contributions to the invention, development, and commercialization of biosensors and detection instrumentation based upon photonic crystals, and optical nanostructures.
  • Diane Dalecki, Ph.D. Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Rochester—for national and international leadership in the study of biological effects of ultrasound and establishment of standards for ultrasound applications.
  • Ranu Jung, Ph.D. Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering at Florida International University—for outstanding contributions to developing novel physiology-based orthopedic devices, and for fostering academic and industrial interactions to advance neuro-engineering.
  • Ravi Kane, Ph.D. P.K. Lashmet Professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute— for outstanding contributions to a mechanistic understanding of polyvalent recognition and the design of potent polyvalent therapeutics and antimicrobial noanocomposites.
  • Angelique Louie, Ph.D. Professor at the University of California, Davis—for outstanding contributions to molecular imaging research and dedication to the education and mentoring of future generations of engineers.
  • Charles M. Roth, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey—for advancement of nucleic acid technologies through integration of molecular to systems-level biophysical modeling and experiments.

The AIMBE College of Fellows is an essential component of the organization’s vision to provide medical and biological innovation for the benefit of society.