Design by Biomedical Undergraduate Teams (DEBUT) Challenge

DEBUT with logos

2019 Winners Announced!

Click here to read about the winning projects

The National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) and VentureWell support the Design by Biomedical Undergraduate Teams (DEBUT) challenge which recognizes undergraduate excellence in biomedical design and innovation.


NIBIB-sponsored prizes:

• First prize - The Steven H. Krosnick Prize: $20,000
• Second prize: $15,000

• Third prize: $10,000

• New! HIV/AIDS Prize: $15,000 (with funds from the NIH Office of AIDS Research) for projects that develop technology for HIV/AIDS prevention and/or care

VentureWell-sponsored prizes:

• Venture prize: $15,000

• Design Excellence prize: $5,000


Entries will be judged on:

• Significance of the problem being addressed

• Impact on potential users and clinical care

• Innovative design

• Working prototype

VentureWell prizes will also consider:

• Market potential and economic feasibility

• Patentability


Winning teams will be honored at an award ceremony during the Annual Meeting of the Biomedical Engineering Society.

Submission Deadline: February 1, 2019 to May 31, 2019, 11:59 PM EDT
Winners Announced: August 27, 2019
Award Ceremony: October 2019, Annual Meeting of the Biomedical Engineering Society, Philadelphia, PA

Learn more at VentureWell

Read the complete rules for participating in NIBIB prizes at Rules for participation for NIBIB prizes.

Browse winning projects from previous years: 2018, 2017, 2016,  2015 2014, 2013, 2012

For further information, contact Dr. Zeynep Erim at (301) 451-4797 or